RMUTL Background

Rajamangala University of Technology Lanna is located in the Wiang Chet Lin area, an ancient town or Chet Buri, at 128 Huay Kaew Road, Chang Phueak Subdistrict, Mueang District, Chiang Mai Province.

The university has five faculties, including the Faculty of Business Administration and Liberal Arts, the Faculty of Agricultural Science and Technology, the Faculty of Engineering, the Faculty of Fine Arts and Architecture, and the College of Integrated Science and Technology.

The university was formerly known as "Payap Technical College," which was a vocational education institution under the Department of Vocational Education, Ministry of Education, founded on August 8, 1957.
On February 27, 1975, Payap Technical College became affiliated with the College of Technology and Vocational Education under the name "College of Technology and Vocational Education Payap Technical Campus." The objective was to produce vocational education teachers at the undergraduate level, provide vocational education at a bachelor's degree level, and provide academic services to society to develop quality teaching systems and potential in many areas.
On September 15, 1988, His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej granted a new name to the College of Technology and Vocational Education, which became the "Rajamangala Institute of Technology" which means the auspicious institution of the King. The objective is to develop and organize education in accordance with the national policy and the labor market's need for graduates to practice science and technology.